Plan Your Visit

148 Darlinghurst Road, Darlinghurst

Location:

The Museum is minutes from Kings Cross and Oxford Street, vibrant centres of activity for tourists and locals alike. For public transport timetables ring the Transport Info line on  131500 or visit their website. Street parking is limited and ticketed. Parking is available in St Vincent’s Hospital car park.

Admission:

  • Adult $15
  • Seniors $12
  • Children $9 (under 10  enter free)*
  • Family $32 (2 adults and 2 students)

*Due to the sensitive nature of the content in the Holocaust exhibition, we recommend that children no younger than 11 years old attend, and that children are accompanied by an adult at all times.

Visits during the week

If you plan to visit the Museum on a weekday during school term, we advise you come after 12.30pm because we often have large school groups visiting in the morning.

Voices App

The Museum has launched an app for iPhones on which the voices of Survivors can be listened to during your visit to the Museum. Please download the SJM Voices app here prior to your arrival. If you have an android phone, please ask at the admissions desk for assistance.

Guided Tours

The Museum offers guided tours as part of the entry fee. Tours are held on Monday-Friday at 1pm, and on Sundays at 12pm and 2pm. Staff and volunteers are available at all times to answer your questions.

Café (Kosher)

Enjoy morning tea, lunch or afternoon tea at the Museum in our café. The café will be closed for Pesach from 2 – 5 April.

Museum Shop

Visit the gift shop for a large range of Judaica and general giftware. Stocks a variety of books, including Holocaust Survivor stories. Members receive 10 percent discount on most products. Free gift wrapping.

Foreign Visitors

Many volunteers speak European languages. Special language services may be arranged with advance notice. Please contact the Museum if you require this service.

Accessibility

Most areas in the Museum are wheelchair accessible. There are rest spots throughout the Museum and accessible toilets are located on the lower ground floor.  For wheelchair assistance, it would be helpful for you to call us prior to your visit on 9360 7999 and we will be able to ensure there is someone available to assist you.

Public and Jewish Holidays 2018

Sunday 20 May – Closed (1st Day Shavuot)

Monday 21 May – Closed (2nd Day Shavuot)

Monday 11 June – Open (Queen’s Birthday)

Monday 10 September – Closed (1st Day Rosh Hashanah)

Tuesday 11 September – Closed (2nd Day Rosh Hashanah)

Tuesday 18 September – 2.30pm close (Erev Yom Kippur)

Wednesday 19 September – Closed (Yom Kippur)

Monday 24 September – Closed (1st Day Succot)

Tuesday 25 September – Closed (2nd Day Succot)

Monday 1 October – Closed (Shemini Atzeret/Labour Day)

Tuesday 2 October – Closed (Simchat Torah)

Tuesday 25 December – Closed (Christmas Day)

Wednesday 26 December – Open (Boxing Day)

 

Public and Jewish Holidays 2019

Tuesday 1 January – Closed (New Year’s Day)

Monday 28 January – Open (Australia Day)

Friday 19 April – Closed (Good Friday)

Sunday 21 April – Closed (2nd Day Passover)

Monday 22 April – Open (Easter Monday)

Thursday 25 April – Closed (Anzac Day)

Friday 26 April – Closed (7th Day Passover)

Sunday 9 June – Closed (1st Day Shavuot)

Monday 10 June – Closed (2nd Day Shavuot)

Monday 30 September – Closed (1st Day Rosh Hashana)

Tuesday 1 October – Closed (2nd Day Rosh Hashana)

Monday 7 October – Open (Labour Day)

Wednesday 9 October – Closed (Yom Kippur)

Monday 14 October – Closed (1st Day Succot)

Tuesday 15 October – Closed (2nd Day Succot)

Monday 21 October – Closed (Shemini Atzeret)

Tuesday 22 October – Closed (Simchat Torah)

Wednesday 25 December – Closed (Christmas Day)

Thursday 26 December – Open (Boxing Day)